Conversations

Another thing I’ve noticed now that I’m pregnant is that suddenly that’s all that anyone is interested in. Granted, there’s really nothing else very exciting going on in my life right now, and I don’t know what else to talk about either. In fact, I’ve never been much of a talker. But now, any time I run into anyone, the following questions ensue:

1. How are you feeling? (Great! Just a little fat, but better than ever.)

2. Have you been sick? (Not once…I actually feel guilty about it.)

3. How far along are you now? (6 months or so, I lose track.) Really? That much/little? You’re so small/big! (gasp)

4. Is it a boy or a girl? (I don’t know. We’re waiting) This will either lead to someone being astounded that I don’t want to know the sex, or to the person being impressed that I’m able to hold out. Then they tell me what they did and how they feel about it. I’d say 75% found out because they just couldn’t handle the suspense, plus they wanted to start shopping.

5. Oh, well, I can tell. It’s a (boy 25% / girl 75%). There’s usually a test of some sort – whether I put my hands out palms up or palms down, if the baby is carrying high or low, whether or not I look pregnant from behind (thank goodness everyone says that’s a negative, but are they lying?), whether or not I’ve been sick, whether or not I’ve been craving junk food or health food, whether my hips are spreading or not. There’s even talk about dangling a pendulum over my belly, but that’s where I draw the line. I’m not going to lie down on my back in the middle of the office for people to gawk at like I’m the fat bearded lady at the circus with a trumpet-playing monkey in my belly.

6. Then I say, “Oh, really? Hmm…well, I don’t know why, but I think it’s a boy, even though I’m hoping for a girl. But I’ll love a boy all the same!” 

7. Do you have any names picked out? What are they? (We’re throwing around a few, but nothing solid yet)

8. Are you feeling any kicking? (Not at the moment, but yes! It’s the most amazing feeling in the world!)

9. Did you get the flu shot? (Yes, but I don’t feel good about it.) Are you going to get the swine flu shot? (I really don’t think I want to, but I’ll never hear the end of it if I don’t.)

Then, various comments and continued conversation follow.

What’s funny is that after the protocol of the first 8 or 9 questions & comments, people generally (if they’re in the mood to chat, which they generally are, some more than others) launch into a conversation about when they had their own baby. (Note: these conversations are mostly with women for some odd reason.)

I’ve heard more stories about peoples’ (sometimes very) personal experiences in the last few months than I ever have in my whole life, about people who have given birth within the last 6 months, and those for whom it has been several decades. People come out of the woodwork to tell me the details about their epidurals or lack thereof, their opinions about epidurals, their natural births or c-sections, “the extra stitch” (!!!), Kegels, cravings, their husbands’ behaviors in the delivery room, and even about their own childhoods.

It’s really quite interesting to hear all of these opinions and anecdotes, and so far I haven’t tired of it. It’s one of the pregnancy side effects that I really enjoy.

One thought on “Conversations

  1. Oh you will hear all kinds of anecdotes and advice… but as with any aspect of life you just have to take what works for you and completely ignore (though politely acknowledge) the rest.

    Wait until everyone wants to touch your belly. Or the inevitable “haven’t you had that baby yet?” that you will hear about one million times as you approach your due date. It’s all part of the joys of pregnancy. (Was that just an anecdote?)

Leave a Reply

