Potatoes

Today’s a day that I have nothing on my mind and nothing to say, so I decided to just start with the first word that came to mind: potatoes. The reason it comes to mind is that it’s on a little post-it note stuck to my cell phone to remind me to take home the chipotle sweet potatoes that my colleague “T” brought in for me to try. She said they weren’t as good as she had expected, but brought some to me anyways.

So why is this relevant? It’s not, really, except that it’s an example of how I’m trying to manage my forgetfulness. I have to write myself little notes for everything. I’ve always had a lousy memory; in fact, I probably have the worst memory of anyone I know except maybe my mom. (No offense, Mom, but you’ll probably forget you ever read this anyways! wink, wink. ) But now that I’m pregnant I’ve noticed that I can’t remember anything. It may be a result of my apathetic disinterest in everything around me besides food, sleeping and TV shows like Glee, Brothers & Sisters, Grey’s Anatomy and The Office, but I’m not sure. I was talking to one of my other colleagues, “R”, today and, when I couldn’t remember the conversation from yesterday that he was referring to, he asked me if I even bother to pay attention in our meetings. Totally busted.

Yes, I have a tendency to zone out. What can I say? I’m bored! 

Here’s one other little pregnancy tidbit. The skin on my stomach hurts, right below my sternum. It feels like a patch of sunburn, irritated and burny feeling. I’m rubbing the stretchmark prevention stuff on every single morning, and to date have not seen even the slightest hint of a stretchmark on my body, but I’m wondering if that might be what’s happening there.

Oh, and the best part of my day today? My BFF from Denver just called me! I don’t get to talk to her nearly enough, so this was the most unexpected treat. I love you Miss Jenny!

4 thoughts on “Potatoes

  1. Don’t you just LOVE The Office? Have you tried Community at all? My husband and I are enjoying it. And Joel McHale is hot. (In my humble opinion.)

  2. Hi Nikki, I told your mom what a wonderful gift you have for writing and she told me to tell you not her. Go figure. Truly, I enjoy your blogs about your trip and now this one on your latest trip. I think you’ll find that not having a good memory might not be such a bad thing. Love the pictures!
    Carol Green

Leave a Reply

