Class III

Tuesday night we went to our 3rd (of 4) childbirth preparation class. I learned a few things, but the most shocking thing I learned is that my husband is a real wimp when it comes to pain!

We did this exercize where we pretended like we were in labor; he ‘coached’ me through position changes and rubbed my back (which, bless his little heart, rather than being the effective, heavy-pressure massage, felt more like he had spaced out and lapsed into scratching the dog’s belly), all while we practiced the ha-hee-ha-hee-ha-hee-ha-hoooooo breathing. Part of the exercise was to put a clothespin on our ear for a series of pretend contractions, each of which lasted about 30-60 seconds. It was supposed to illustrate the fact that you have to breathe through the contractions, and that you have to tolerate the pain until the contraction is over (when you could remove the pin).

I distracted myself with the breathing techniques, but you should have heard Ronny whine! Always the class clown, he usually makes jokes throughout the class, but I don’t think he was joking about how bad his ear hurt. He did do a great job coaching, though, so I think we’ll be able to make it through labor…hopefully.

We also watched a video of a c-section. Okay, I know most people don’t choose to have one unless it’s absolutely necessary, but I really don’t want to have a c-section. The natural birthing process looks bad enough, but OMG the c-section was gnarly! We learned that one in 3.3333333 births nowadays is done via c-section, which doesn’t leave me with very good odds, but I’m going to do everything I can to go au natural

But, I guess we’ll just have to wait until February 12 (or thereabouts) to find out just what this ol’ body of mine can handle….and to find out what my hubby can handle. Ten more weeks and counting…

Leave a Reply

