Update 2

Ok, as promised, here’s a little update of what was covered in last week’s doctor’s appointment. Sorry to have kept you waiting; I know you’ve been on the edge of your seat.

According to the scale at the doctor’s office, between November 30 and December 16, when I had been told to snack more because I wasn’t gaining weight, I managed to gain six pounds. Six pounds in two weeks? I hardly see how that is possible. Conversely, at 31 weeks, when my belly should have been measuring at 31 cm, it was at 28 cm. That’s only a 1 cm gain, leaving me measuring 3 cm too small. When Dr. S. told me the numbers, I took a deep breath and pushed my panzote out as far as I could, surely gaining a good 6 cm, and asked her to measure again. She laughed and said no, that’s not how it works. How is it that I can gain six pounds but only one centimeter in my belly? I’m convinced that the scale was malfunctioning on 11/30, leading to faulty results. If the numbers are in fact correct, though, I’ve gained a total of 21 pounds over the last 31.5 weeks. I think that’s right on schedule, as long as I don’t blimp up over the next 8 weeks.

Anyways, now, that ultrasound that I begged for just so I could get a glimpse of the baby is actually needed because of my “small” belly. Dr. S. told me not to worry about anything; it could just be that the baby is lodged deep into my guts and that’s why she’s not sticking out any further. She said I could just be one of the lucky ones who doesn’ t pop out too big. But, if that’s not the case, and she’s just not growing fast enough, we might have to start stress testing to see what’s going on.

For now, I’m not worried about it at all. Especially now that I’m having these constant stretching pains. (Or at least that’s what I suspect they are; I have a call in to Nurse S. just to be sure…)  I think the baby must have just started growing really fast this week or something.

Oh, and at my last appointment, I took my friend M’s advice and asked Dr. S. if I could take Zantac to squelch this diabolical heartburn. She said it was fine, and that if it doesn’t seem strong enough, that I should feel free to double up the dose. Thank goodness for that….it’s an absolute lifesaver!

One thought on “Update 2

Leave a Reply

