A New Year

A new year is upon us and of course I feel the need to set a resolution. Every year before now I have either (or both) failed to acheive my resolution or forgotten alltogether what it was. This year, though, my resolution is clear. I will be the best mother that I can be. How great of a mother that is, I don’t know yet, but I will do the best I can.

Last night Ronny and I celebrated New Year’s Eve together for the first time in five years, and as we kissed at midnight, we promised one another that we would be the best mommy and daddy that we can. I have no doubt that he will be a good father. He’s confident in his own abilities insofar as we have a boy. He was raised in a family with two brothers, a father, and a tomboy mother. I’ve always both laughed and groaned at his lack of understanding of women, and I’ve always been a little surprised that I ended up with a man whose sentimental, empathetic, soft, feminine side is completely non-existent. And he’s well aware of the fact that he’s like this, by the way, so it’s not like I’m attacking him in any way. But the reason I even mention all of this is that it is the reason he’s absolutely terrified of having a daughter.

A son? Cake. Think soccer, baseball, wrestling, golfing, roughhousing and car-fixing. He understands boys.

But a daughter? This is his biggest fear. He has absolutely no idea what to do with a girl.

But I know in my heart, that if a little girl comes out, he will fall so madly in love with her the second he sees her. And he’ll find that not only can he play dress-up and make cookies, but he can also play soccer, baseball, wrestling, golfing, roughhousing and car-fixing with her.

Kids naturally love him. He’s the kind of guy who is so playful and funny that kids want to hang all over him and be on his good side. I’m completely opposite; kids have never really liked me at all. I think they can sense that I’m terrified of them. I’m sure Ronny will be a natural, but I’m going to have to learn how the heck to be a parent. I know, everyone has to learn it, but I think the learning curve will be a little bigger for me than for him.

So anyways, this year should be an amazing one. We had a great 2009, filled with adventure and change, and now we look forward to 2010 being a year of growth and excitement.

6 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Congrats on your soon to be be son or daughter! I can vouch for boys- they are so so funny and everything isn’t quite so pink. Love the pic of the tree in your nursery too!

  2. I bet he’ll be OK with a girl. My husband also grew up without sisters, or even girl cousins. And watching him with our daughter…amazing.

    And yes, you’re right, there is a learning curve. Just knowing that ahead of time, and accepting it, puts you so far ahead.

Leave a Reply

