Four Things

1. I’ve started experiencing Braxton Hicks contractions. Sweet. Actually, I think I’ve been having them for the last few weeks but mixing them up with the baby moving. It’s kindof hard to explain, but it feels like the baby is just pushing as hard as s/he can (let’s go with “he” for this post…I’m suspecting it’s a boy), trying to stick his but out through my side. It’s not exactly painful, but it doesn’t really feel good, either. And it’s accompanied by a strong tightness, like a clenching feeling. It seems that it’s starting to happen more often than it was before. I seriously thought this just meant that the little guy was trying to make more room inside of me, but once I went to the other childbirth prep class the other night and the instructor explained what Braxton Hicks feels like, I realized what’s actually going on here. A couple of days ago I felt it all day, and after hours of this sensation, it’s a little exhausting. But, from what I understand, it’s the uterus’s natural way of strengthening and flexing itself, and it’s nothing to worry about.

2. As I just mentioned above, I went to the other childbirth prep class. It’s a free class put on by Pacificord, and yes, as I suspected, there was a bit of a sales pitch for the cord banking company, but it certainly wasn’t as annoying as I thought it would be. And actually, I enjoyed the class (except that I was very uncomfortable in a crappy metal folding chair without a table the whole time). Most of the mothers in there were somewhere between 36 and 38 weeks, so I was actually one of the LEAST pregnant preggos in there. This class recommends the deeper, slower, more yogic breathing rather than the panting ha-hee-ha-hee breathing that we learned about in our other class. How am I supposed to know what’s better to do? I suppose it doesn’t hurt to know both and decide at the time that I need it which one seems to be working better for me, huh? (BTW, I’m wondering about cord blood banking…I wonder if it’s a good idea…hmmm…)

3. Good news: I officially start my FMLA / maternity leave next Friday! I met with HR and they’re taking me out for up to 16 weeks. I am soooo excited. I’m trying not to feel guilty about taking the time off of work, but some people at my office who are perhaps a little more dedicated than I am make me feel like I’m not a good enough employee if I want to take my full benefit. But, you know me, I’m the “work to live” not “live to work” type, so I’m ready to take off and enjoy the last days of my pregnancy and the first days of my baby. No guilt involved, no matter what!

4. Baby shower #2 is tomorrow at my parents’ friends’ house…can’t wait!

OH, and here’s a sneak peek at the nursery…cute, huh? Now all I need is a baby to put in there!

Nursery

3 thoughts on “Four Things

Leave a Reply

