Ahh…Mommy Time…er…GRANDMommy Time

Man, oh man, did I need the last few days. Seriously. Ronny and his buddies from home planned a trip to Vegas so I went up to my parents’ house with the baby. Bookended by Ronny’s presence at the house, these 5 days provided the R&R that I’ve so desperately needed. (My parents live half way between our house and Las Vegas so Ronny spent a night with us on his way there and back.)  I took advantage of the opportunity and enjoyed the most sleep I’ve had in the last 5 weeks!

Needless to say, Grandma and Grandpa are in love with Maysen, so they were elated when I asked if we could come visit. My mom was awesome…she took the baby every morning after the 6 or 7am feeding so I got at least a 2- or 3-hour block of uninterrupted sleep while I was confident that the baby was happy in Grandma’s arms. She actually offered to take the baby in the middle of the night, too, if I needed, but I managed to make it through the nights on my own without interrupting Grandma or Grandpa’s rest.

Maysen’s actually beginning to make it through the night with only 2-3 feedings, which means she sleeps a good 3 hours or so at a stretch. It’s getting to where in between feedings she doesn’t scream and cry quite as much as she did before. I mean, she still cries, but it’s not the frantic, heart-wrenching shrieks and wails that we experienced (tolerated?) the first few weeks. I suppose part of the reason for that is that she’s spending more time in bed with me (as mentioned in a recent post), rather than alone in her bassinet, and another part might be that I wake up immediately from vigilant shut-eye upon the first grunt or irregular breath emitted from the sleeping baby. I guess you might say I’m at her beck and call, something which I am beginning to understand is a life-long phenomenon for me going forward.

Anyways, the point is that I got to catch up on some much needed Zzz’s. The best part, though, was that my mom and dad arranged for me to have a deep tissue massaaaaaaaahhhge. It was the most heavenly, painful, delicious hour I’ve experienced in quite a while. If you’ve been reading this blog you’ll know that I’ve been complaining incessantly about how desperately I’ve been needing to have a good ol’ relaxing rub-down. Well, this was no Massage Envy, wimpy smearing around of scentless massage oil. This was the type of rub-a-dub-dubbin’ that hurt a little while it was happening, just like I like it, and which left me feeling spacey, noodley and completely relaxed.

Then, after that, I took a bath in my parents’ tub, THE most amazing bathtub into which I’ve ever dipped my tootsies. I luxuriously sprinkled into the water the lavender aromatherapy powder which foamed up into the most decadent, relaxing, spa-like bubble bath thanks to the jets making a boiling cauldron out of the agua caliente. Screw Calgon; this stuff my mother-in-law gave me took me away!

And, even better than the massage and bath, my mom indulged me in a couple of baby photo shoots. It’s a rare occasion when I can talk Ronny into helping me get good shots of the baby, but my mom eagerly jumped in when I suggested that we find a way to attach these cute little wings (that I got from an old teddy bear) to the baby. Of course, I’ll post the photos soon, but not now, because I don’t feel like it. (Is it that I’m too lazy, or is it that I’m just still relaxed?)

I also got to take a couple of naps this weekend. Actually, it kindof felt like I just had a long weekend of sleep punctuated only by crying, feeding (baby and us), and a few movies. My dad got to spend some QT with the babe while I napped, and I think it made him fall even more deeply in love with the little stinker.

And that’s it. Nothing exciting to report, really. I’m just so thrilled to have slept. I’m so thrilled to have indulged in a massage and aromatherapeutic bubble bath. I’m so thrilled to be renewed and ready to care for my little angel like she deserves.

Oh, okay, fine. I got a wave of energy so I’ve changed my mind. Here are a few photos from the trip to Grandma & Grandpa’s house.

Um, I’m just sayin’… Whose heart can resist melting when her baby falls asleep in her hand like this?

Not sure who’s happier, Grandpa or Grand-daughter…

Still working on the perfect naked newborn in the perfect baby position shot, but since Maysen hates being naked and rarely lets me pose her, this is the best I’ve got so far. Cute, huh?

Grandma daringly risks poopy-hand and holds Maysen as she looks out the window and gets used to her new wings.

Um, did I say I’m in love with my daughter?

Again, did I tell you I’m in love? BTW, it takes about 46 shots to get something this cute (darn the out-of-focus-ness!). Thank goodness photography has gone digital!

And Maysen tells us when it’s time to call it quits. That’s a wrap!

Until next time, XOXO.

3 thoughts on “Ahh…Mommy Time…er…GRANDMommy Time

Leave a Reply

