Oh, snotty day.

Have I mentioned that new-motherhood is totally exhausting? What? I have? Well, let me reiterate. I can’t catch enough sleep. I understand that it’s all part of being the mother of a six-week(!!!)-old baby, but somehow I can’t seem to get the hang of it. Somehow my husband is getting plenty of sleep, every day, and manages to get me to feel sorry for him when he says he doesn’t feel good so he doesn’t get out of bed until after 11:30am when I’ve been up feeding/changing/rocking/entertaining the baby since 7. He’s not a morning person; never has been and probably never will be. Neither am I, but somehow, and I suppose I should blame it on breastfeeding, I’m the one who wakes up with the baby at 1am, 3am, 5am and 7am (unless Hubby keeps her up with him past 1 so I can get a couple of hours of uninterrupted sleep). The day he volunteers to get up in the morning to entertain the baby so I can get some rest I’ll probably be so stunned that I can’t even close my eyes so I won’t get a break anyway.

Sometime around 8am I finally become concious and we start our morning routine. I think it may have something to do with the fact that my daughter is lying next to me, sucking determinedly on her pacifier, staring resolutely in my eyes, determined to get me up-and-at’em. I can sometimes play opossum long enough for her to fall back asleep, but it seems that the majority of the time she whines, grunts and then cries until I pick her up, burp her, and play the bouncing game until she projectile spits up  slimy breastmilk into my cleavage and then coos her way into forgiveness.

But I digress. The point is that I’m tired. And the random times that Ronny offers to take the baby while I take a nap are few and far between, but when they do happen, I find that I can’t sleep. I actually think I’m too tired to catch the shut-eye that I need. (Which is why I’m writing now.)

This morning was different, though. Little Maysie had a very stuffy nose this morning. I fed her, we fell back asleep, and then she woke up red-nosed and sneezing out green snot over and over and over again. Then I realized that I was sneezing too (but my snot wasn’t green, thank goodness!). She could hardly breathe, her nose was so stuffy.

I had been wanting to take her to the doctor for some other reasons, namely, a rash on her face (infant acne? sun exposure?), green poop (it’s supposed to be yellow by now), a weight check (green poop could mean we have a foremilk/hindmilk imbalance so she may not be getting the calories she needs to put on weight).

Well, of course, by 10:20 when we saw the doctor, her snot was no longer green and her little button nose was barely even pink. And, her rash had practically disappeared. But we weighed her, 8 lbs. 13 oz.! That was with her clothes and diaper (they keep sick babies in their clothes), so nakeskies she’d probably be about 8lbs. 10oz., which means she’s gained a pound and a half! And, she’s grown 1 1/2 inches since our last visit. The doctor thinks the rash is cradle cap, an opinion which I think is cradle crap. I looked it up online and I’m still convinced Baby May had a case of infant acne. I mean, the cradle cap images I ran into looked gnarly! And the green poo issue? Dr. J had the same opinion of the two breastfeeding experts I talked to: foremilk/hindmilk imbalance. But she said I don’t need to worry about it as long as the baby is gaining weight and seems alert and satisfied after eating, which she does.

So, it seems that the baby is getting better, but Mommy isn’t. Maybe it’s because the baby can nap any old time she wants, and the mommy can’t sleep. But the baby’s sleeping now, so, as (clear, not green) snot actually drips out of my nose it’s time for me to say nighty-night. (Yes, I know that’s a little more info than most would want to read about, but that’s the brakes!)

2 thoughts on “Oh, snotty day.

    • OH, Give me a brake. Just kidding. You got me. Actually, I guess I didn’t really know the correct way to write it, but you’re probably right. Thanks, Mom!

Leave a Reply

