11 Weeks Today!

Holy Toledo. Last night I got a taste of what it was like during the long-gone days of getting a full night’s sleep. But just a taste. Maysen went to bed around 11:30 or so and didn’t wake up until 5am! And then she actually slept until 8:30! This was the first, and hopefully not the last, time I woke up feeling semi-refreshed, in the last, what, 11 weeks?

I can’t believe it has already been eleven weeks since little Maysie was born. Everyone who has kids told me to appreciate these newborn days because they’ll be over and gone forever before I know it. Well, I’m already feeling that bittersweet pain. No longer does she make those amazingly adorable wakeup faces. When she was a super new newborn she would take a few minutes waking up, making silly faces the whole time. Puckered lips looking like they were ready for a smooch would morph into a stuck-out tongue and then to the world’s biggest yawns and full-body stretches. Now, she just opens her eyes and blinks a few times and then poof! she’s awake. Actually, when she’s really, really asleep and then I pick her up and put her against my chest, she brings her knees up and sticks her little but out. It’s the cutest thing…she looks like a little caterpillar. I don’t have any photos of this, though, because it always happens when she’s in my arms.

Same with her adorable little smile. I’m yet to get a good photo of her little toothless grin, but I’m going to attempt to get it soon. I hear that teeth can start coming in as early as 4 months, so her adorable little gummy smile will be gone sooner than I’ll be able to believe. For some reason, she grins like crazy when she’s in her daddy’s arms, so I’ll seize the next opportunity as soon as possible.

Speaking of Daddy, what are we going to do when I go back to work? If I leave for more than an hour, it’s pretty much guaranteed that the baby’s going to scream mercilessly at least once for several minutes at a time. And Daddy’s not handling that too well. Even if I leave a bottle, for some reason, Baby May insists on putting her father through the ringer, and it stresses him out, big time. I’m talking about walking in and catching him in a full-body sweat, looking terrified and frustrated and totally helpless. The poor thing. I don’t know how he’s going to handle me being gone for 10 hours at a time. Wow…I just realized that that’s actually how long I’m gone for work. I leave the house at 7 am and return around 5:30 or 6? Wait, that’s almost 11 hours!

Not only can I not believe that Maysen’s already 11 weeks old, but I can’t believe that it’s already almost time to go back to work. Am I really ready for that? No, I’m not, but, we have to do what we have to do, right?

It has been so awesome having this time with my new daughter. Our family has grown and we’ve been able to spend so much good time together. And I’ve even gotten to do a little baking. Check out this picture of me being a domestic goddess making pumpkin bread for my hubby while the baby’s slung around me.

Oh, and I took this picture myself, believe it or not. Talk about multi-tasking!

I’ve also been tinkering in my brand new garden. A day or two before Maysen was born, Ronny and his dad started building the garden I’ve always wanted. They built a raised box and filled it with soil, and they but up a little bamboo fence so that the dog or any other critters won’t be able to sneak in and eat my veggies. Well, I happened to go into labor while they were building the thing, but they did finish it a day or two after the baby was born. Then, when Maysie was maybe 4 weeks old, I planted some seeds and little starter plants while she slept next to me in her little baby carrier. Then Ronny and I put in mulch and stepping stones, well, actually, Ronny did that. Then we painted our whole fence this awesome cherry red that would drive our HOA nuts if they ever stopped by for a barbecue.

Here’s a picture of the garden today:

It’s kindof tough to see with the sun/shadow combo, but heck, you get the idea, right? I’ve actually already pulled up some radishes (what the heck am I going to do with all these radishes? I don’t really even like radishes!), and I’m using the basil, lettuce, mint and chives in the kitchen. I have little zucchinis and tomatoes budding and flowering. I’m so excited for Maysen to be able to play in there with me. It has always been a little dream of mine to play in the dirt with my own child.

Anyways, I just wanted to put a little update in here since it has been a while since I posted. And here are a couple more photos of the little stinker that I just took about an hour ago.

I can’t believe how big she is! She’s drooling like crazy, maybe even worse than Kodi (our dog), and she has discovered that she can put her fingers in her mouth (but still hasn’t figured out that that’s what is causing her gag reflex!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

