3 Months – No More Newborn Baby for this Mommy.

Seriously? Has it really been over two weeks since I posted? How the heck does that happen? Oh, wait…Maysen is no longer a newborn baby. Now she’s a little person who needs nearly constant attention. I can no longer let her just lie in my lap like a little lump of cuddly cuteness. Now she wants to bounce and play all the time. She’s constantly grinning when she’s not crying or eating, and she’s starting to be really interactive. If she’s awake, she makes it very difficult to set her down for more than two minutes. She’s now 3 months (and two days) old. No kidding! Somehow the time has flown by, escaped me, and the days of having a newborn baby are over for good. Well, until the next baby, I guess.

But I have to say that I think I’ve fully enjoyed every moment of this awesome stage of our lives. (Well, except for the occasional crying jag which has made me nearly insane.) Several people have told me that I should enjoy these days while I can because they’ll be gone before I know it. I do think I have done that. It would have been nice to spend a little more time outdoors rather than being constantly in our house, but honestly, not only is it tough to get out of my pajamas, but there’s really not much to do in this town. We’ve gone to the farmers market a few times, we’ve gone shopping, we’ve gone to girls night in San Diego, but each of these times is punctuated with out of control crying. Not that that’s bad, but it makes it tough to relax and enjoy the other stuff in life. But really, who cares?

We went to the doctor a few days ago for the second half of her 2-month vaccine schedule. Maysie’s now up to 11 pounds, and 22 1/2 inches. She’s active and healthy and still the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. She has started to sortof have a little bit of a sleep schedule. Basically, she’s going to bed in the late evening, waking up long enough for me to get her fed and in bed around 11 or so, waking up around 3:30 or 4, and then sleeping until about 7am. It’s getting easier, as everyone told me it would, but it’s still a struggle to get out of bed in the morning. I’m still constantly exhausted. But, when I wake up to the cooing of a beautiful, blue-eyed angel staring me straight in the eyes with a perfect little face that lights up the second I look at her, it’s hard to go back to sleep anyways. I wish I could get a photo of that little face, but it’s impossible. Not only do I not have the camera in bed with me, but she won’t smile like that into the camera. Plus, I must indulge in those little moments; they’ll probably, like the amazingly adorable newborn wakeup faces, be gone before I know it.

And, the best part? I was due back to work on May 10th but was able to get my LOA extended until June 1. I seriously don’t think I would have been able to go back to work quite yet. Ronny still has trouble caring for Maysen for longer than 2 hours at a time, and we’re yet to secure childcare. It’s just so hard to think of someone else taking care of my daughter. Someone else hogging those precious, gummy grins that melt my heart. I don’t want her cooing at anyone else, and I don’t trust anyone else to care for her and give her the constant attention that she needs. I really envy those people whose parents don’t work and who live close enough to watch the baby every day.

But it’s about time to come to reality and get something set up. June 1st will sneak up on me just like May 10th did, and I’ll have to be strapping on my heels and getting to work, surely before I’m totally ready.

So, here are a couple of photos to show little Maysie’s development:

Baths have finally become fun...not tortuous.

Seriously. Look at that grin. She smiles like that at her daddy all the time. Priceless!

It was my first Mother’s Day this year. I’m a little bummed that I didn’t get a really good photo of Maysen and me, but at least I have this one to mark the occasion. We had a family get-together at our house, which was my idea, but now I know why mommies get taken out to brunch on Mother’s Day. It was tough to relax when I was constantly working or trying to keep the baby from crying. It was awesome to get the whole family together, though, including my mom and Ronny’s mom. It was a super special, albeit hectic day.

Maysie sits in front of the flowers I got for Mother's Day

Notice the finger in the mouth. Maysen is now constantly sucking on her fingers. And slobbering. I hope she doesn’t plan on getting teeth too soon. I can’t bear to be without her toothless smile!

On her three-month birthday Maysen was sleepy so it was really tough to get a good shot. But she's still cute, right?

By the way, you may notice that she’s wearing the outfit that my own daddy picked out for me to wear home from the hospital when I was born. She’s three months old and it’s still a little big!

Maysie's first swimsuit...no bikinis until she's older!

Ronny and I decided to take Maysie down to San Diego for a little beach time yesterday. But the beach was cold and windy so we spent the afternoon in the park. Grandma got her this cute little swimsuit…so adorable! And don’t worry. She’s wearing 70+ spf sunscreen.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “3 Months – No More Newborn Baby for this Mommy.

  1. Nikki Ronnie
    What a doll.
    Nikki she looks so much like you when you were little.
    Enjoy her they grow up so fast.

    Love
    Aunt Marie

Leave a Reply

