So Many Changes

It was an entire month ago that I last posted. Of course, in this last month we have had so many changes in the baby and in our lives. You know, this once-a-month writing thing really isn’t working out for me all that well. Working full time really takes it out of me.

But guess what. I quit my job. Well, I put in my two-week notice, so I have until September 3 to keep working. It has been so tough going to work every day to do something that I really don’t like, to be bored, uninspired and unchallenged. If I were in a career that I loved, that would be different. But as it is I feel like I’m wasting a lot of time that could be spent with my daughter, having fun, teaching her, and getting to know one another. Hubby got a job, so things are looking up. We might even be moving back to SD which would really make me happy…I think. The rental market is pretty ridiculous right now, that’s for sure.

But enough about that. Let me tell you about Maysen. She turned six months on the 13th, so I got her pictures taken by a local photographer. She did a GREAT job, and I’m so pleased! Maysen let her personality shine through and hammed it up like you wouldn’t believe. She grinned, she scooted, she rocked back and forth on her hands and knees. I swear, she’s a natural. She has been pretty moody this month, though, because her two bottom front teeth are making their debut. She’s been slobbery, and whiny, and otherwise inconsolable every now and then, and those suckers are sharp, so every time she bites her fingers too hard she makes herself cry. First she didn’t understand that putting her fingers too deep in her mouth was what was making her gag, now she doesn’t understand that it’s those teeth that hurt. She’ll figure this out soon enough, right?

She’s also on the verge of crawling. She’s rocking and scooting, and sortof crawling, but usually her attempts end with her falling face-first on the ground. And she’s sitting up on her own, almost. She’s still using one hand to prop herself up, but for the most part she has it figured out. And don’t even put her near something that she can grab onto and use for leverage. The little girl is standing up every chance she gets!

And the biggest change of all? To anyone else it’s probably not a big deal, but to me it is. We’ve started feeding her rice cereal and baby food carrots. My goal was to breastfeed exclusively for six months, but after four months I had to supplement with formula because Maysen always seemed like she was on the brink of starvation. So my mom finally talked me into giving her a little rice cereal. It took her a second, but as soon as she figured out what we were doing, she grabbed the spoon right out of our hands. I tell you, the girl likes to eat. But after a while it seemed that she really didn’t like the rice cereal anymore. Next we tried carrots. Just a little jar of the baby food. She absolutely LOVED it. You could see the look on her face…first surprise, then, as she toyed with the food in her mouth, satisfaction bordering on excitement. Again, she took the spoon right out of my hand. It’s hard to tell, though, if it’s the carrots she’s excited about or the rubber spoon that she gets to chew on. I’m the only one struggling with this development; it basically means that my days of breastfeeding, which have been challenging, to say the least, from the beginning, are probably coming to an end.

We also had some other exciting news in the family. My little baby niece was born a week ago! So now Maysie has a little cousin. I thought my baby was tiny, but next to little K, she’s an absolute giant. Seriously.

Last week Maysen had her six-month checkup. She’s 13 lbs., 12 oz., and 26 1/2 inches long. She’s in the 10th percentile weight-wise, but the 75th lengthwise. Somehow we’ve got a long and skinny baby, but Doc says she’s perfectly healthy and has a surprising amount of energy and bodily control for her age. We’re still struggling with the whole vaccine issue, so we only gave her a couple of shots on the last visit.

Anyways, hopefully the forthcoming posts will be a little more interesting. It’s hard to cover an entire month in just a few paragraphs. It’s hard to tell the story when there’s just so much to write about. It’s hard to call myself a writer when I never write, and then to try to cram everything in to one rambling narrative. Ugh.

Anyways, I’ll post pictures soon, so hang tight!

Leave a Reply

